Beginning this year, mental health professionals will be required to continue their education throughout their career. These mental health professionals can include mental health counselors, marriage and family therapists, psychoanalysts, and therapists who do work using a creative form of art such as music or dance therapy, among many others. The New York State Board of Regents now states that in order for a mental health professional to keep their license to practice in any of the previously mentioned areas of work, they must take 36 hours of continuing education classes.
Over the next few months, the NYS Board of Regents is to approve certain educators that can provide mental health professionals with the continuing education that will be required. Any person who wishes to work as a continuing educator will have to pay a $900 fee to register for this type of licensure.
This new law does not require any mental health professional who is not currently active in working with mental health patients to continue their education. In addition, lawmakers understand that those who have recently obtained their mental health license have just gotten out of several years of schooling for this practice area and do not require them to take continuing education courses until after their first license registration period has ended.
If you would like to become a provider of these continuing education classes, speak with the Board of Regents to find out more information. If you are a mental health professional and have questions about this law, you may want to speak with an experienced medical law attorney who can help ensure you are abiding by the new requirements.
If you require a medical law attorney for your legal matters, call Paul E. Walker, an experienced New York City OPMC & OPD Lawyer. Please contact the Walker Medical Law firm to set up a free initial consultation.